Authors / Sanneke van Hassel

Sanneke van Hassel

Sanneke van Hassel

Sanneke van Hassel (b. Rotterdam, 1971) was awarded the BNG New Literature Prize in 2008 for her first two story collections, Ice Rain (2005) and White Feather (2007). Her novel Nest appeared in 2010, followed by the collections Donkey (2012) and Here I Stay (2014). Ten years after her debut, Jan van Mersbergen made a selection of her stories that was published as The Mornings. In 2013 she won the Anna Blaman Prize for her oeuvre and recently the Times Literary Supplement praised her story ‘Indian Time’ in The Penguin Book of Dutch Short Stories.


Recent title – English material

Stille grond (Common Ground), 2017

A current, self-assured novel about loneliness and life in a rapidly changing city. To read in one sitting. - ALGEMEEN DAGBLAD

‘Sanneke van Hassel places her finger with startling accuracy on the sore spot of the current era. - TZUM

Hassel is in the tradition of Raymond Carver, Nescio and Campert. - DE LIMBURGER

Few writers are as capable as Sanneke van Hassel at portraying the spirit of the times. She also manages, without any great drama, to finely sketch the balancing act between different interests in her new novel 'Common Ground'. - HAARLEMS DAGBLAD