Authors / Kees van Beijnum

Kees van Beijnum

Kees van Beijnum

© Keke Keukelaar

Kees van Beijnum (b. 1954) is the author of successful novels including Dichter op de Zeedijk (Poet on the Zeedijk), which was published in 1995 and nominated for the AKO Literature Prize, while the movie based upon it won the Golden Calf – the Dutch equivalent of the Academy Awards. De ordening (The Arrangement), published in 1998, was nominated for the Libris Literature Prize, and the film version was nominated for a Golden Calf. De oesters van Nam Kee (Oysters at Nam Kee) appeared in 2000, was made into a movie and won the 2001 F. Bordewijk Prize. Recent novels are Paradiso and Een soort familie (Kind of Family) which was nominated for the AKO Literature Prize. De Offers (Sacrifice, 2014) was published by C. Bertelsmann in Germany.


Recent titles – English material

23 Seconden (23 Seconds), 2019

De offers (Sacrifice), 2014

Press on Sacrifice:

Characters who will steal your heart. […] There are books that radiate self-confidence from the very first page, permeated with concentration, control and a kind of maturity. If we, for the moment, define good writing as getting readers where you want them, Sacrifice can only be called exemplary. **** – NRC Handelsblad

A tale about benign but destructive love in a country of weakened souls. Van Beijnum portrays in poignant and historically
accurate scenes a country finding it hard to bear a lost war. ***** – Algemeen Dagblad

The alternating storylines of Brink, Michiko and Hideiki are well balanced, like a perfectly composed piece of music. **** – De Telegraaf